Beginning a New Journey

Just another day in paradise…at my jewelry bench.

Today begins my aspirations to use sterling silver and gold-filled metals in my jewelry making.  I have been inspired by other metal artisans who have created some very pretty and interesting jewelry.

For the past year or so I have been using the base metals of copper and brass.  These metals are fairly inexpensive to work with, as well as interesting in their own rights.  I love working with copper!   The metal properties of copper are fascinating to learn about and the color is so rich and warm.  I have cut out discs, sawed, filed, sanded, textured, soldered, oxidized, tumbled and polished copper pendants and bracelets.  I have used brass to a lesser degree.  It is more difficult to oxidize, which is a good thing if you don’t like an oxidized look.  I don’t have the same affection for brass, but like most things it has it’s place.

So, there you have it.  Stay tuned…the learning curve is just beginning…

Leave a Reply

